My digital photography gear

OK. Here is my current gear in digital photography.

nikon d80-4

Nikon D80

nikon d80-1

My Nikon D80

nikon d80

Tamron 17-50 mm f2.8 Non-VC

Nikkor AF-S DX 18-135mm f/3.5-5.6G IF-ED kit lens

AF Nikkor 50mm f/1.8D

en el3e

Photoolex EN-EL3e Charger

nikon camera bag

Generic Nikon Camera Bag

velbon sherpa

Velbon Sherpa 800R tripod that I borrow from my housemate from time to time

Review:

First off, my Nikon D80 with the 18-135mm kit lens. This was given to me last September 2015. It is a mid-range camera with a shutter count of around 35,000 shots. This is fairly old with around 67% camera shutter life, but hey this was given to me free so it’s already a win-win. I am new to digital photography so I am really optimistic that this is a good starting camera for me and I can improve my craft with this one. I am becoming familiar with its features and have taken note of its good and bad points. I love the layout of the controls in this camera.

Kit lens

The Nikkor AF-S DX 18-135mm f/3.5-5.6G IF-ED is a good kit lens for me. It gives you the extra reach with that 135mm zoom compared to the regular 18-55mm kit lens on the entry-level Nikon D3000, D3100, and D3200. The zoom lens gives you nice portrait shot with a bit of bokeh. It also has a fast autofocus.

Update: Ever since I took it to my field work in Eastern Samar last year, the lens was kinda broken. It can still focus and take picture though but I can’t adjust it from 18-35mm. I think it was damaged when I tried to twist the focus ring, so I might need to use a different lens for the wider angle shots (which is a pain in the neck) if you are in a coverage. I might need to buy another one.

Nikkor Prime 50mm f1.8d

I have researched about this lens and been wanting to have one. The regular price for this is around P5,200 at Macys Camera Shop but I found a used one at Istorya.net for P3,200 so I decided to take a look and see if I like it. I love the crisp image of this lens. Here are some shots I took with this lens.

memeng1

memeng

Tamron 17-50mm f2.8 Non-VC

This is my newest lens. I was lucky enough to have been given this lens as a wedding gift from our wedding sponsor Papie Dirk from Belgium. We’ll, he was the one who gave me the DSLR camera and made me started with digital photography in the first place (again thank you so much Papie for this wonderful gift). Ok! So he was the one who asked me what I wanted as a wedding gift (even hinting if I want a lens).   Well, ever since I bought my second-hand Nikkor nifty fifty, I have always wanted to have another fast lens and well within the wide angle range. The first thing that came to my mind when Papie Dirk asked me what lens I want was the Tamron 17-50 non-vc. I like the zoom range of 17-50 and perfect to my style which is street photography, events, and a bit of landscape photography. This lens would really fit in my intended use. And after reading tons of reviews about this lens, I felt in love with it. All these became more evident when I first held it on my hands and took test shots. The quality is crisp and it really has a fast autofocus. Here are some of the shots I took with this lens.

 

Leave a Reply

