Enjoying the first sunset of 2016

Happy New Year 2016!

The year 2015 was a very good year for me. There were a lot going on for me last year to be thankful for — I got engaged, I traveled more, I got to meet new people and made new friends, I learned new things, and I also got into mountaineering. I am ready to face this year with a renewed hope and excited to conquer life’s challenges ahead.

Well, what better way to start the year than to appreciate God’s wonderful creations.

My fiancee and I decided to “burn off” some calories from all the dining and drinking the night before during the New Year’s celebration. So we headed out to the nearby beach in the Visayas State University (VSU) to go swimming. She lives in Brgy. Guadalupe which is just adjacent to the school. The VSU Main Campus is located in Visca, Baybay City, Leyte and is “one of the leading universities in Southeast Asia for research in agriculture“. Well we jokingly say that it’s the university with a mountain and a sea (VSU is flanked by Mt. Pangasugan to the east and the Camotes Sea to the west).

Since my college years, the sunset at VSU has always been stunning (and relaxing after a difficult class or a hectic exam). A lot of university students also share this sentiment. It’s like your student life in VSU would not be perfect if you haven’t experienced and appreciated the sunset there.

So, anyway, we packed some food and I grabbed my camera to take a piece of that glorious sunset. We arrived at the beach around 4 p.m. so we still have a lot of time to set up our picnic and go swimming. Here are some photos I took during that wonderful day.

Leftover food from our simple "media noche"

Leftover food from our simple “medya noche”

Our little picnic at the beach on the first day of the year 2016

Our little picnic at the beach on the first day of the year 2016

People also flocked to the VSU beach

People also flocked to the VSU beach to “swim off” those fats

My turn to strike a pose

Me striking a pose

Fiancée striking a pose

Fiancée’s turn to strike a pose

Serene

Serene

sunset2

Kids enjoying the beach

Kids enjoying the beach

There is always a

The VSU sunset is always breathtaking

DSC_0321

DSC_0315

Fishermen on a motorized outrigger

Fishermen on a motorized outrigger

DSC_0305

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

