Newest Artwork

After so many months, I finally decided to pick up a brush and paint again. It was really a busy time for me these past few months because of work and preparing for my wedding and all that. It was a lazy Sunday afternoon when I decided to paint this watercolor rendition of a farm scene by Fernando Amorsolo (May 30, 1892 – April 24, 1972) – a National Artist in the Philippines. I love his paintings as he depicts the rural setting in the Philippines in a romanticized way. He also makes good use of lighting and it makes me think of how it is in the rural farm areas in the Philippines during Amorsolo’s time in the 1920s-50s. The one I did was Amorsolo’s “Family Gathering Fruits”.

For me, the process was hard at first because I still need to make a rough sketch of the thing with a Staedler mechanical pencil and a gum eraser and then apply the watercolor. It was not as hard though as rendering the painting from an actual photo because the original artwork was in oil on canvas and pretty much the work was cut out for me. I had a hard time doing the faces and the complexion and have to make sure that I can maintain the lighting and the value of the painting. I also had difficulty in the painting process because of my limited variety of watercolor brushes. I was only limited to using the flat ones and I think I only used a round brush in the more detailed ones. Maybe if I have enough money, I can buy the outrigger brush and the all-important hake brush for watercolorists. All in all, I am more confident using watercolor as a medium as compared to acrylic (I have yet to try oil). Plus, I want to finish a painting in only one sitting.

So there! My “comeback” watercolor painting. I hope I can do more this month or in the coming months.

Dimensions: 10 x 15 inches (?)

Medium: Watercolor (Reeves)

Paper: Arches 300 gsm

 

16648997_1575966519080244_2918618368973349523_n

 

16806747_1575966619080234_6240830794234518193_n

Leave a Reply

